Tags

, , , ,

jordan (1)

As a child on through young adulthood I’ve always loved sneakers. I guess you could dub me what our generation calls a “sneakerhead.” Someone with a knack for collecting sneakers. I’m an artistic person, I’ve always had a thing for drawing and art and I think that’s where my love of tennis shoes, Jordan’s in particular, blossomed. I not only love the make and style of a sneaker but I feel like sneakers are a way that people express themselves and show their personalities. If I am in a more down mood or the weather is gloomy I will usually lean towards a black sneaker, if I am in an energetic mood I lean toward more of a colorful sneaker, usually red, and during summer when the weather is warm and the sky is clear I lean more toward a white or light grey sneaker.

Growing up and even now I loved Jordan for two reasons. Reason one being that the different style of shoes were so sleek and different than any other shoe on the market. The attention paid to detail was amazing. Everything from the jump man on the bottom of the shoe to how the colors were layered. Reason number two being who was behind the shoe….Michael Jordan! The drive, the ambition, the skill and the fact that he was the best of the best. Why wouldn’t you want to wear his shoe? Not to mention a new shoe came out every 2-4 weeks and people would (and still do) line up around the building in order to snag themselves and family and friends a pair or 5.

klbjj (1)

These days Jordan has certain pairs of his sneaker that are “in the vault.” Meaning they won’t come back out or they won’t re-lease them for a while. Which leaves me asking the question, what will MJ do next in the shoe game to keep us interested? Or will he be able to continuously live off of his name alone?

DeCarlo Finesse Middleton